HB48: No renewal class required

This sub-forum will open for posting on Sept. 1, 2012.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Do you support HB48 that removes the requirement to take CHL renewal course?

I support HB48 and I am not a CHL Instructor
73%
I support HB48 and I am a CHL Instructor
6%
I oppose HB48 and I am not a CHL Instructor
16%
I oppose HB48 and I am a CHL Instructor
4%

Total votes: 228

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 3

HB48: No renewal class required

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

Since the HB47 thread/poll is generating some lively discussion, let's see how folks feel about HB48. If HB48 passes, a CHL will not have to take a renewal course to renew their CHL. Currently, once you are on your 3rd or later renewal, you are only required to take a renewal course once every 10 years, although you still must renew the CHL every five years.

Do you support or oppose HB48?

Chas.

Jumping Frog
Posts in topic: 2

Re: HB48: No renewal class required

Post by Jumping Frog »

There are many states that do not require renewal training, and I am not aware of any evidence or data showing it reduces public safety or creates additional unjustified shootings in those states. So dropping government-required renewal training is fine with me.

I have personally chosen to continue with periodic training for my own benefit, but there is a world of difference between personal efforts and government-mandated efforts.
-Just call me Bob . . . Texas Firearms Coalition, NRA Life member, TSRA Life member, and OFCC Patron member

This froggie ain't boiling! Shall not be infringed! Μολών Λαβέ

The_Busy_Mom
Posts in topic: 1

Post by The_Busy_Mom »