Hoffner Intermediate pistol (Victoria)

General training discussions and class reviews.

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
Bill
Posts in topic: 2

Hoffner Intermediate pistol (Victoria)

Post by Bill »

As you all know, I am a terrible writer, but here goes.
I took this class mainly for the low light and sniper pistol. I have taken more advanced classes of pistol, BUT it has been awhile and repetition never hurt anyone.
This was held at Dr Tobin Ranch Range, what a nice place, and thanks DOC
Sat: Hoffner did a class overview going over safety and his courseology. Saturday was mostly drills on speed and getting the hits, kinda standard drills. We discussed flashlight usage as Sunday morning we got to work a low light/no light building.
Sun: we met at Dr Tobins range at 4am and practiced clearing a building with all sorts of junk in the way. This was a real eye opener in his methods are always correct and useful. Slicing the pie as we approach the door threshold and using his methods to clear. It was fun
The rest of the day we did more moving shooter practice, which I feel is overlooked by most CHLer who only practice at ranges that are only stationary shooting allowed.
We shot about 700-800 rounds , there were 13 shooters, mostly middle age 40-50. There was one woman who won the shooting contest (way to humble the men)
Brain Hoffner is a great teacher and very safe, he is very supportive of your effort and really enjoys instructing. I plan on becoming a Hoffner Instructor this year., at least in Pistol and Rifle. I have to go and cook dinner, I will be back and post a few pics and a little more descriptions.
Last edited by Bill on Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
retired CHL Instructor

longtooth
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Hoffner Intermediate pistol (Victoria)

Post by longtooth »

I will be interested in the pics. :waiting:
I also think your writing is fine. :tiphat:
Carry 24-7 or guess right.