HB 3496

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
jasday
Posts in topic: 1

HB 3496

Post by jasday »

Been a long time lurker around here, just found something that really caught my interest. What are your thoughts on this bill that was introduced into the house? I know that one was introduced last session that allowed for concealed carry by first responders in rural counties. I'm not sure if it passed or not as it didn't apply to me and I lost track of it. The county I work for far bypassed the population requirement. It required that the county population be under ???? With a certain number of law enforcement officers in the county. This will allow any first responder, with a CHL in the state to conceal carry. As a paramedic, I know that there are strong opinions for and against this, what is the general persons thoughts and opinions?

http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/BillLook ... ill=HB3496" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
jasday

howdy

Re: HB 3496

Post by howdy »

I know as a 911 Paramedic I am all for this bill that will allow carry for first responders. We have people in our department (Chief) that think this is a terrible idea and would work hard to not allow it in our department. He is a paper pusher that has not run a call in years. As the OP knows, it can get real scary out there on the street. Ask a Police Officer if he/she would go out there un-armed and they would say "no". I know they do some scarier stuff than we do, but ours gets scary too.
Texas LTC Instructor
NRA Basic Pistol Instructor
NRA Life Patron Member TSRA Member
USMC 1972-1979

joe817
Posts in topic: 2

Post by joe817 »

This bill was only filed last Thursday, 3/12/2015. It has not been assigned to a committee yet. It's in its infancy stages. Give it some time.
Diplomacy is the Art of Letting Someone Have Your Way
TSRA
Colt Gov't Model .380

ninjamedic2293

Post by ninjamedic2293 »