A good waterproof gun safe?

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
terreythompson
Posts in topic: 1

A good waterproof gun safe?

Post by terreythompson »

I'm looking for advice/info on gun safes. I recently purchased a Rock River LAR-15 and it's my first AR. My wife is concerned about keeping it in the house so I have it in our shed for now, but she wants the thing properly locked up and I have no real experience with long rifles.

We already have a small biometric safe under our bed for my Glock, but we're looking to get something that will be big enough to house the AR and the hunting rifle I plan to buy this year. I read this review of different gun safes (https://gunnewsdaily.com/reviews/gun-safes/), but I'm not sure which would be the right fit for us.

Does anybody have any preferences when it comes to gun safes? The in wall one is what my wife is leaning towards, but I don't want something that's gonna require construction or anything. I like the gun closet idea, but like I say I don't really know much about em.

Any specs, pros, cons, whatever would be helpful. We live by the water so we definitely want a safe that's water resistant and fireproof. I dont know if they make ones that are both but if someone can suggest a good waterproof one, that would be great. Thank you.

ELB

Re: A good waterproof gun safe?

Post by ELB »

I am going through a "safe search" myself.

This is the best advice written down that I have run across. Get a beverage, takes awhile to go through it: http://gunsafereviewsguy.com/