RV, camper van, site trailer, and work truck carry considerations

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
Interblog
Posts in topic: 9

RV, camper van, site trailer, and work truck carry considerations

Post by Interblog »

I’m a forum newbie who would like to open a discussion so that people can offer any logistical tips and anecdotes that they may have regarding less-common firearm self-defense scenarios, specifically in the context of both personal and employment-related travel and temporary living accommodations. I searched this forum looking for existing threads with that kind of focus, and I didn’t find any, but if I missed anything, please link to this thread.

Many other user forums, including RV forums, don’t allow this kind of discussion because any such threads quickly become overrun with non-value-added opinions, political flaming, and objections to self-defense generally, to the point where the moderators quickly shut them down.

Unfortunately the need for self-defense in travel and work scenarios is all too real. I had a “friend of a friend” who traveled among a number of his employer’s remote sites to do data logging – that was his job function. A thief spotted the expensive electronic equipment installed in his work truck for this purpose, and murdered the worker on the spot in order to steal that equipment.

In Texas in particular, it’s common for workers to live in temporary accommodations such as site trailers and RVs that are staged in remote areas for the purposes of monitoring field equipment. Some of them are located quite some distance from any law enforcement and basically must defend themselves if it ever comes to it.

One of the most common thread shut-down questions on other forums is, “If I make the personal decision that I am going to carry in my trailer, van, or RV, what is the best choice of firearm given the challenges of the cramped maneuvering space?”