.223 v 5.56

For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
sjfcontrol
Posts in topic: 4

.223 v 5.56

Post by sjfcontrol »

I'm fairly new to reloading, and so far have only experimented with handgun loads. I've been trying to figure out what is needed to reload some AR-15 ammo, and have some questions regarding the differences between .223 Remington and 5.56 NATO.

First, I don't see any reload data specifically for the 5.56. The Hornady book lists 223 Remington fired from a Remington 700 bolt-action rifle, and 223 Remington Service Rifle Data. The first only includes bullets up to 60 grains, the Service Rifle data starts at 68 grains and goes to 80 grains.

Is that a differentiation between 223 and 556? Is the difference between the two just a heavier bullet and therefore higher pressures? Is there a difference in the casings of the two to handle the pressure differences?

The speer book only has one section for 223 Remington, with bullets from 40 gn to 70 gn.

Do you use the same dies and setup for both?

Thanks in advance for straightening me out here!
Range Rule: "The front gate lock is not an acceptable target."
Never Forget. Image

Beiruty
Posts in topic: 1

Re: .223 v 5.56

Post by Beiruty »

In Hornady 9th there is section for 5.56 NATO. Page 157.
I short 5.56 has:
1) higher pressure spec
2) Chamber is different from Rem. 0.223
3) You can shoot .223 in 5.56 rifle
4) You can NOT shoot 5.56 in .223 rifle

Case is the same BUT, some (or all?) 5.56 has the primer crimped in. To reload, you need to swage or ream the primer pocket.
Beiruty,
United we stand, dispersed we falter
2014: NRA Endowment lifetime member

Topic author
sjfcontrol

Post by sjfcontrol »

Beiruty wrote:In Hornady 9th there is section for 5.56 NATO. Page 157.
I short 5.56 has:
1) higher pressure spec
2) Chamber is different from Rem. 0.223
3) You can shoot .223 in 5.56 rifle
4) You can NOT shoot 5.56 in .223 rifle