Need old computer

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: Keith B, carlson1

User avatar

LDB415
Senior Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2014 12:01 am
Location: Houston south suburb

Re: Need old computer

Postby LDB415 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:05 pm

CP/M Control Program for Microcomputers.
NRA Life Member, CCC Life Member, GSSF Member
Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.
Common sense is only right wing if you are too far to the left.
A pistol without a round chambered is an expensive paper weight.

User avatar

sjfcontrol
Senior Member
Posts: 6220
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:14 am
Location: Flint, TX

Re: Need old computer

Postby sjfcontrol » Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:50 pm

o b juan wrote:This post reminds me I Have A KAY-PRO 10 Mega bites they called a portable weighed about 35 lbs the key board cinched into the front and covered the screen which was about 8 " wide x 6 high & green.
Ashton Tate was a name that had somthing to do with it and danged if I dont still have all the books on programming.. I believe it was called CPM (Critical Path Method?) It was set up for me by a guy who worked for me, in my printshop.

Did acount lists. receivables, 3 check books and accts payable and it was hooked into a cannono typwriter to do all the printouts from late 83 till june 88..

I knew nothing except how to enter and print it did all the adding and subtracting.

It had some games but didnt use very much for that..

havent turned it on sine 88 did it a few minutes ago and it came on but forgot how to access the durn thing.\

It cost 3,200.00 when I bought it in 88..

Things sure have cahnged; acception would be me I still KnoW ; next to nothing about computers :cheers2:


Control Program for Microprocessors

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/CP/M
Range Rule: "The front gate lock is not an acceptable target."
Never Forget. Image

User avatar

SRO1911
Senior Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 10:31 pm
Location: Abilene, TX

Re: Need old computer

Postby SRO1911 » Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:04 pm

I do believe im in somewhat the same boat. Just bought a pair of GM300's with duplexer, controller, the whole shebang and a complete MSF500. I've got a 486 machine and the cables you are welcome to use if you ever get up near abilene - - if you have the software lol, thats our current stopping point. We have looked into a few of the aftermarket/open source programs but would really prefer the actual motorola packet.

On a good note though - took about 7 minutes on the phone to get our frequencies.
When any govt, or church,says This you can't read, are forbidden to know, the result is tyranny and oppression. Little force is needed to control a man who has been hoodwinked; no force can control a free man, not the rack, bombs, not anything, you can't conquer a free man, at most you can kill him.


brhalltx
Senior Member
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 7:46 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Need old computer

Postby brhalltx » Mon Sep 01, 2014 11:09 pm

Pawpaw wrote:CP/M stood for Control Program for Microcomputers. It was one of the original Disk Operating Systems (DOS) for small computers.

In fact, Bill Gates ported it over from the original 8080 processor to the 8086 (with a few changes) and sold it to IBM as PC DOS to be bundled with their IBM PC.


Microsoft licensed, and later bought, DOS from Seattle Computer Works; it was written by Tim Paterson, who reverse engineered it from CP/M for the 8086.
TSRA Life Member
NRA Patron Member
Houston IT and Database Development

User avatar

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts: 16501
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: Friendswood, TX
Contact:

Re: Need old computer

Postby Charles L. Cotton » Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:31 am

SRO1911 wrote:I do believe im in somewhat the same boat. Just bought a pair of GM300's with duplexer, controller, the whole shebang and a complete MSF500. I've got a 486 machine and the cables you are welcome to use if you ever get up near abilene - - if you have the software lol, thats our current stopping point. We have looked into a few of the aftermarket/open source programs but would really prefer the actual motorola packet.
I'll try to find a link for the RSS.

SRO1911 wrote:On a good note though - took about 7 minutes on the phone to get our frequencies.

How in the world did you do that!? It took me several weeks and some help from another ham. Is it a 70 cm pair or 2 meters? The waiting list for 2 meter pairs in the greater Houston area is longer than my remaining expected lifespan.

Chas.
Image

User avatar

SRO1911
Senior Member
Posts: 698
Joined: Wed May 02, 2012 10:31 pm
Location: Abilene, TX

Re: Need old computer

Postby SRO1911 » Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:30 pm

Being up in zone 5 helps, its 70cm.
Called our zone 5 guy, couldnt get an answer - phone disconnected, not returning emails, the works
Called the chairman directly:
Chairman Coordinating Committee
Mark Stennett, NA6M
418 Sunset Drive
Georgetown, TX 78628
512-569-3445
TXVHFFM-SFC@rfprojector.com


he apologized for us not getting service, looked up our area and said here you go....
When any govt, or church,says This you can't read, are forbidden to know, the result is tyranny and oppression. Little force is needed to control a man who has been hoodwinked; no force can control a free man, not the rack, bombs, not anything, you can't conquer a free man, at most you can kill him.


powerboatr
Senior Member
Posts: 854
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 9:53 pm
Location: Quitman

Re: Need old computer

Postby powerboatr » Wed Sep 03, 2014 11:17 am

erecycler over in garland has tons of older machines
my first brother in law works in the electronics shop there
pm me and i will give you his number
we picked up a new to us laptop screen last year for pennies
Proud to have served for over 22 Years in the U.S. Navy

User avatar

Skiprr
Moderator
Posts: 6458
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Outskirts of Houston

Re: Need old computer

Postby Skiprr » Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:25 am

OMG. I have a 386 PC circa 1993 up in the attic.

Don't get you're hopes up: hasn't been powered-on since 2000, and it's been living in Houston attic conditions.

I'll pull it down and test it this weekend, but my bet bet is no-go, even if I switch out a new power supply.

I'll try, though. Think I even have an old, unused, 386 motherboard up there...
Join the NRA or upgrade your membership today. Support the Texas Firearms Coalition and subscribe to the Podcast.
I’ve contacted my State Rep, Gary Elkins, about co-sponsoring HB560. Have you contacted your Rep?
NRA Benefactor Life Member

User avatar

Divided Attention
Senior Member
Posts: 1139
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:03 pm

Re: Need old computer

Postby Divided Attention » Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:32 pm

We have an old 486 that hasn't been used for a LONG time. We were just discussing recently needing to wipe it and dispose of it. If it would help it is yours.

ETA - as far as I know it works fine - has been in a/c in my daughter's room - was her "math game" computer when she was little. We just never moved it off her desk.
Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; Psalm 144:1-2
CHL - 2010; NRA RSO - 2011, NRA Chief RSO - 2014
NRA Pistol Instructor -2013, NRA Refuse To Be A Victim Instructor - 2015
Lifetime NRA Member - 2013

User avatar

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts: 16501
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: Friendswood, TX
Contact:

Re: Need old computer

Postby Charles L. Cotton » Fri Sep 05, 2014 11:02 pm

Divided Attention wrote:We have an old 486 that hasn't been used for a LONG time. We were just discussing recently needing to wipe it and dispose of it. If it would help it is yours.

ETA - as far as I know it works fine - has been in a/c in my daughter's room - was her "math game" computer when she was little. We just never moved it off her desk.


Thanks, I think the 486 machines will run the software. I'll email about picking it up

Thanks again,
Chas.
Image

User avatar

G.A. Heath
Senior Member
Posts: 2637
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2007 9:39 pm
Location: Western Texas
Contact:

Re: Need old computer

Postby G.A. Heath » Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:18 am

I would advise some caution regarding the 486 on that radio. The fastest I recall an Intel 386 running was 25mhz (some amd based chips hit 40mhz) while the 486 started out at 16mhz and 25 mhz they got as fast as 133mhz IIRC. I suspect the 486DX will probably work while the DX2 and DX4 might give you heart burn due to the cpu clock being run on a multiplier off the bus clock. I am basing this off of what I remember on the 386 and 486 class processors as well as what you posted about bricking the radio. I could be, and probably am, wrong but I would be careful running the 486 machine.
I am a Podcaster who talks about Firearms, especially in Texas. I am also a Gun guy, Car Guy, and Computer Guy.

User avatar

Skiprr
Moderator
Posts: 6458
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:50 pm
Location: Outskirts of Houston

Re: Need old computer

Postby Skiprr » Tue Sep 09, 2014 11:02 pm

Skiprr wrote:OMG. I have a 386 PC circa 1993 up in the attic.

Don't get you're hopes up: hasn't been powered-on since 2000, and it's been living in Houston attic conditions.

I'll pull it down and test it this weekend, but my bet bet is no-go, even if I switch out a new power supply.

I'll try, though. Think I even have an old, unused, 386 motherboard up there...

Looks like a no-go. Attempted power-on fried a capacitor on the board. Nice zap and pop, though.
Join the NRA or upgrade your membership today. Support the Texas Firearms Coalition and subscribe to the Podcast.
I’ve contacted my State Rep, Gary Elkins, about co-sponsoring HB560. Have you contacted your Rep?
NRA Benefactor Life Member

User avatar

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts: 16501
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 9:31 pm
Location: Friendswood, TX
Contact:

Re: Need old computer

Postby Charles L. Cotton » Wed Sep 10, 2014 10:03 am

G.A. Heath wrote:I would advise some caution regarding the 486 on that radio. The fastest I recall an Intel 386 running was 25mhz (some amd based chips hit 40mhz) while the 486 started out at 16mhz and 25 mhz they got as fast as 133mhz IIRC. I suspect the 486DX will probably work while the DX2 and DX4 might give you heart burn due to the cpu clock being run on a multiplier off the bus clock. I am basing this off of what I remember on the 386 and 486 class processors as well as what you posted about bricking the radio. I could be, and probably am, wrong but I would be careful running the 486 machine.


Ouch! I'd better not try the 486 machine. I'm going to use it to program radios for kids joining a new youth amateur radio club and I can't risk bricking one of their GM300s. Thanks anyway Divided Attention, I really appreciate you trying to help.

Chas.
Image


chop249
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 4:38 pm
Location: Johnson County

Re: Need old computer

Postby chop249 » Wed Oct 08, 2014 10:18 pm

I know this is an old topic but try these guys in Arlington. http://www.electronicdiscountsales.com/ ... 1285705257
73
chop249


OldGrumpy
Senior Member
Posts: 298
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:37 am
Location: DFW Metroplex

Re: Need old computer

Postby OldGrumpy » Thu Oct 09, 2014 8:11 pm

I have an old macine in attic. Been there about 10 yrs. let me take look this weekend to see what I have
Love God, Family, USA, and Texas
Act justly, love mercy, walk humbly with God - Micah 6:8


Return to “Technical Tips, Questions & Discussions (Computers & Internet)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest