Coupla' empty chairs here? ;-)

So, your CHL Application has been filed and the clock has slowed to a crawl - tell us about it!

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
sparx
Posts in topic: 5

Coupla' empty chairs here? ;-)

Post by sparx »

Well finally! As of Saturday my wife and I both completed our CHL class, and the packets ware mailed off to Austin today. :grin:

Now, the long wait.

I was really proud of my wife, as she did very well, both on the written and range tests. It seems like it was only yesterday that I was attempting to bring her up from a .22 to at least a 9mm in caliber increments! I told her about llwatson's suggestion of having someone else work with her, but she wouldn't hear of it (she thinks I'm a great teacher... I'm sure there's no bias there! ;-) ), so we spent many fun and pressure-less trips to the range with her working up the caliber ladder along the way at whatever speed she felt like going.

She's still hunting for a good SD handgun with a nice-fitting grip that molds to her tiny hands like her P22 does, though at least now she is confident that she won't have any trouble using the GLOCK 19 if she needs to, and really enjoys shooting it. After she shot a .380 I think she realized that muzzle flip was nothing to fear, and when I mentioned that the little .380 she had just shot actually had more muzzle flip than the G19 due to its smaller size, she was itching to give it a go and didn't look back. She used the G19 for the range test and scored 236. I was very pleased with myself, too. Although I didn't "ace" the entire class, I did ace the written test but due to two fliers at 15 yrds, scored a 247 on the range test.

We're both really just happy to have passed and once our Return Reciepts for the mailings have been signed and sent back to us, we'll begin that 60-day countdown and see how quickly/slowly things go from there.
NRA, TSRA, TXGR, SAF, GOA & FPC
"I'm not terrified of guns, I'm terrified of gun-free zones!"

txinvestigator