Topic author
carlson1
Posts in topic: 6

IDPA For The Disabled

Post by carlson1 »

Is there such a thing?

SRVA

Post by SRVA »

Not officially but I know of clubs who have accomodated people with severe limitations. As long as the shooter can accomplish the required tasks in a safe manner, most clubs will find a way to make it work.

HighVelocity
Posts in topic: 3

Post by HighVelocity »

Our club (Cross Timbers IDPA), looks at it on a case by case basis. If the would-be shooter can navigate the course of fire safely and not endanger himself or others in the process then we will do our best to accomodate him/her.
Since I started shooting IDPA, I've only seen two people that required minor adjustments to the COF due to reduced mobility or range of motion. Those adjustments were made and both shooters were safe and had fun.
I am scared of empty guns and keep mine loaded at all times. The family knows the guns are loaded and treats them with respect. Loaded guns cause few accidents; empty guns kill people every year. -Elmer Keith. 1961

Topic author
carlson1

Post by carlson1 »

My mobility is limited. I cannot walk for long distances at a time. I was just curious. Thanks for the answers.

MoJo
Posts in topic: 1

Post by MoJo »

I am the IDPA match director at Golden Triangle Gun Club in Beaumont. We have made accommodations for a gentleman who is confined to a power chair and I would look at any other disabilities and try to work around them with an emphasis on safety.
"To disarm the people is the best and most effectual way to enslave them."
George Mason
Texas and Louisiana CHL Instructor, NRA Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Personal Protection and Refuse To Be A Victim Instructor

SRVA

Post by SRVA »

Carlson1, IDPA rules limit a course of fire to no more than 10 yards total movement for the shooter. There is no time limit to complete a scenario. You should be just fine. Want me to come up and run a practice match for you so you can try it out?

Charles L. Cotton