HB 1815--SIGNED INTO LAW 6-15-07!!!

Relevant bills filed and their status

Moderator: Charles L. Cotton


Wilson
Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 1:53 pm
Location: Johnson County

Postby Wilson » Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:57 pm

GrillKing wrote: If a bill is sent to the governor within 10 days of final adjournment, the governor has until 20 days after final adjournment to sign the bill, veto it, or allow it to become law without a signature."

It looks like HB 1815 and HB 1839 went to the Governor on May 26th, so 20 days from adjournment :???:


Jeremae
Senior Member
Posts: 595
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:05 pm
Location: Highlands,Tejas

Postby Jeremae » Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:24 pm

pbandjelly wrote:
seamusTX wrote:Gov. Perry is a Turkey, at the moment.


daaaaang, Jim, that's just mean!!
:lol:


Well He just had a photo-op with Randy Quaid signing the bill granting money to film makers who shoot here so he must be back from Turkey.

Get out the pen Rick and SIGN 1815
Reasonable gun control is hitting your target with the first shot.

User avatar

stevie_d_64
Senior Member
Posts: 7588
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 11:17 pm
Location: Houston, Texas 77089
Contact:

Postby stevie_d_64 » Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:27 am

Hang on now...Got to think priorities...

Hollywood comes first in a lot of things... :lol:

Yeah, I know...Run for cover! blah blah blah... ;-)

"Send Rick some Bics!"

(Ohhh, thats a good one! Need to write that one down too!)
"Perseverance and Preparedness triumph over Procrastination and Paranoia every time.” -- Steve
NRA - Life Member
"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?"
Μολών λαβέ!


Topic author
CWOOD
Senior Member
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 12:54 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Postby CWOOD » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:37 pm

THE GOVERNOR SIGNED IT TODAY.

See his website at:

http://www.governor.state.tx.us/divisio ... rt:int=400

This is a good day.


5111
Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:11 pm

Postby 5111 » Sat Jul 14, 2007 3:48 pm

So does this mean that after September 1 a person can carry a concealed weapon in their car without having a CHL?

Do they have to be traveling through 2 counties for an overnight stay garbage?


KBCraig
Banned
Posts: 5251
Joined: Fri May 06, 2005 3:32 am
Location: Texarkana

Postby KBCraig » Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:04 pm

5111 wrote:So does this mean that after September 1 a person can carry a concealed weapon in their car without having a CHL?

Do they have to be traveling through 2 counties for an overnight stay garbage?


As of September 1, it will no longer be against the law in any way to carry a concealed handgun in a car without a CHL.

No more worry about defining "traveling".

User avatar

seamusTX
Senior Member
Posts: 13551
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Galveston

Postby seamusTX » Sat Jul 14, 2007 4:41 pm

KBCraig wrote:As of September 1, it will no longer be against the law in any way to carry a concealed handgun in a car without a CHL.
Nitpick time (nah, we never do that around here). :smile:

Only the driver or owner of the vehicle can carry.

The exception evaporates if the person is breaking a law other than a class C misdemeanor traffic violation. If someone is driving drunk, for example, the DA can pile on UCW.

http://www.texasshooting.com/TexasCHL_Forum/viewtopic.php?t=7834

- Jim


bradf
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:37 pm

Loaded?

Postby bradf » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:40 pm

Is it just assumed that the gun is loaded or is this a loop-hole they can use against us.

Thanks

Brad

User avatar

seamusTX
Senior Member
Posts: 13551
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Galveston

Re: Loaded?

Postby seamusTX » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:45 pm

bradf wrote:Is it just assumed that the gun is loaded or is this a loop-hole they can use against us.
Loaded or unloaded is completely irrelevant to unlawfully carrying a handgun. The law does not even specify that the weapon must be capable of functioning.

- Jim


Return to “2007 Texas Legislative Session”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest