License Mix-up

The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
mec
Posts in topic: 5

License Mix-up

Post by mec »

Several months ago, a guy was buying a gun at Praco Pawn and Gun in Waco. He whipped out his CHL to jump past the insta check. The clerk looked at it and said, " This isn't your picture."

" No it's not. That's why I carry THIS!" He produces a letter that reads, in effect:
" I am a concealed handgun instructor. I mixed up the other picture with the other application and this is the wrong picture on the license. It's ok though. My mistake."
Signed
------------ DPS Certified Concealed Handgun Instructor

That makes two guys out there running around with bogus licenses from this instructor.

Anybody else run into a wierd instructor situation?

Lindy
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Lindy »

Well, if I were him, I'd call the DPS in Austin, talk to the CHL section, and do whatever was necessary to get that problem fixed, which should, since they have the original pictures, just be a case of getting a new license issued matched up with the correct picture.

People make mistakes. Mistakes, at least those which are not immediately fatal, which this one is not, can be corrected.
"Amateurs practice until they can do it right. Professionals practice until they cannot do it wrong." -- John Farnam

Topic author
mec

Post by mec »

I suspect that's what the guy eventually did. It would have been nice and made quite a bit of sense if the instructor had contacted the CHL division instead of writing that note.

LarryArnold

I doubt CHLS would be amused

Post by LarryArnold »

1. The person taking the fingerprints is supposed to compare one of the photos with a photo ID and with the student's face and sign the photo certifying that all three match. I kinda think CHLS isn't going to be "amused" at this little booboo.