I was convicted of a Felony in 2004, can I own a weapon?...

The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
L5454
Posts in topic: 1

I was convicted of a Felony in 2004, can I own a weapon?...

Post by L5454 »

I was convicted of a State Jail Felony in 04, released in 06 under shock probation.
Forgery and Aggregated (Not Aggravated) Theft.
I was told when released that I was ineligible to vote and own a weapon, but when released i received a "pink sheet",
and have voted ever since.
I do understand that Federal Laws trump state laws, but I am wanting to know because as a Vet I have shadow award cases with my Side arms and rifle and awards from service in my house
Am I breaking the law?

Beiruty

Re: I was convicted of a Felony in 2004, can I own a weapon?...

Post by Beiruty »

As per Federal Law, you cannot be in possession of firearms period. That includes purchasing or transferring ownership to you.
Best course, petition for Governor Pardon and Purge your criminal record.
Beiruty,
United we stand, dispersed we falter
2014: NRA Endowment lifetime member

Richbirdhunter

Post by Richbirdhunter »

I'm asking because I don't know the answer, what defines a gun? How many parts can you remove until it's a paper weight?
Disclaimer: Anything I state can not be applied to 100% of all situations. Sometimes it's ok to speak in general terms.

Texsquatch
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Texsquatch »

Richbirdhunter wrote:I'm asking because I don't know the answer, what defines a gun? How many parts can you remove until it's a paper weight?
I believe the lower receiver or frame is always considered the piece subject to firearm transfer/purchase requirements. Such as those Sig frames you can swap out or the AR lowers that require a serial number and FFL transfer.

CJ7nvrstk

Post by CJ7nvrstk »

Aren't they the property of your wife or significant other?

Keith B

Post by Keith B »