Double Action Question

The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
IsraelisJewish
Posts in topic: 5

Double Action Question

Post by IsraelisJewish »

Double Action Semi Auto Question: I can load my magazine and put in my semi auto. I can then pull the trigger and make it rack a round and shoot - double action. So why do I need to carry the weapon with one in chamber to be ready to go in a instant? Also (I am just starting out as a chl licensee), if I carried in that fashion would you recommend having the safety on? Or would the condition of the weapon be the ipso de facto safety? Thanks for the advice. Please go easy, I m a beginner.
David (IsraelisJewish)
SunnyWalker.net

oohrah
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Double Action Question

Post by oohrah »

Do you actually own a DA semi-auto? The trigger does not make the slide rack. You must do that manually. Once you rack the slide, a round is in the chamber. Depending on the weapon, especially a DA, the hammer is not cocked, so the act of pulling the trigger essentially cocks the trigger then releases it to fire the projectile. Many DAs do not have a safety, because this action is a long heavy pull that makes an accidental discharge remote.

Since every weapon is different and you are a beginner, it will behoove you to get some basic instruction at a range, and try out a variety of different handguns to learn how they work. If you are serious about buying, you could also pick the brain of the guy at the gun counter, but sometimes, they are not that knowledgeable either. Once you acquire your own piece, spend some range time to really get to know how it works, before you really need it.

Most of us carry with a round in the chamber, because of the precious seconds lost trying to rack the slide. Then you use whatever safety features are available to avoid a negligent discharge.
USMC, Retired