The "What Works, What Doesn't," "Recommendations & Experiences"

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
CZp10
Banned
Posts in topic: 13

another 30.06 question

Post by CZp10 »

Sorry, I am new here (and to concealed carry), but I have a question that has been bothering me for some time. I have read through a number of threads on this topic, but I honestly don’t understand the complacency. I apologize for bringing this up again, but I am really struggling with this. Since I am new to all this, please let me know if I am misunderstanding anything, or just being dumb in general (my wife seems to think that happens a lot for some strange reason :smile: ).

Personally (and this is just my own opinion) I don’t have a problem with the requirements for a concealed carry permit, nor do I have a problem with people or businesses who do not want firearms on their private property. However, I can’t understand how the placing of a sign makes an otherwise completely law abiding citizen a forever recorded criminal for simply placing a foot inside a building open to all of the general public just they put up a discriminatory sign.

If someone is asked to leave, for any reason, from a private residence or a business they should leave and criminal penalties might ensue if they refuse. But how in the world are you automatically a criminal for being a law abiding citizen? There is a reason you can’t put up a sign saying “No (fill in the blank) People Allowed!”

I know there is the argument that 30.06 is the law, and if you don’t like it you should leave Texas. I honestly mean no offense, but this is a nonsensical argument. Every new law that has been enacted or changed over the millennia would never have been done if that argument made any sense.