A Girl and Her Gun(s)

Issues important to the ladies, with men and women welcome.

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
Selina Kyle
Posts in topic: 8

A Girl and Her Gun(s)

Post by Selina Kyle »

I have noticed several other folks posting their experiences on here in the form of a blog. I was thinking that since I'm pretty new to shooting, and it is quickly becoming a huge passion of mine it might be fun to do a blog myself. I also sincerely hope that maybe someone will read this and realize that it is entirely possible for a very liberal gun-ignorant individual to become a more conservative and passionate gun enthusiast. You will notice that the title of this blog has Gun with an S in parentheses. This is because currently I only own one gun that I would actually call my very own (even though hubs graciously shares his guns with me). I added the S because I definitely plan on purchasing more firearms in the future, as my budget and husband will allow. LOL

I will begin with telling you a little bit about myself. While I have never been anti-gun, I was not raised with much experience with them at all. I always knew that my mom had guns in the house, but I had been given strict instructions not to mess with them. As a result, I had quite a bit of fear. Knowing nothing about firearms, I had the irrational fear that one could just go off in my hand. I decided that since I knew nothing about them, my best bet would be to keep a safe distance.

During my senior year of college, I met the man that would eventually become my husband. He is an avid (and very ethical) hunter, and probably the biggest gun enthusiast that I know. I think it is also important to note that I am huge animal lover, and at the time I was a member of PeTA. I despised hunting, and I had a very false and jaded view of the NRA. Once I got married, I quickly realized that guns would be a very large part of my life whether I liked it or not.