gigag04 wrote: cb1000rider wrote:
nightmare wrote:Is that a California thing where citizens have to post bail even if they haven't been charged or arraigned?
There are places in Texas where you can immediately plead guilty / no-contest and go home. If you are going to plead not-guilty, you can sit in jail until the judge can set your bail...
Only on felony charges, DWI refusals, family violence cases do you HAVE to wait.
Standard bond for a B is $2k and A is $4k, assuming in county address.
Class C bonds are the amount of the fine and that is usually where folks plea and pay to get out.
But refusal of a breath/chemical test isn't a crime, is it? You lose your DL for 6mo, but the refusal isn't a crime....
The other thing about this situation is unusual, is that if you haven't been arraigned/charged with a crime, or had the license otherwise suspended IAW GC 411, then presumably you could just ask for a duplicate from DPS, right?
4/13/1996 Completed CHL Class, 4/16/1996 Fingerprints, Affidavits, and Application Mailed, 10/4/1996 Received CHL, renewed 1998, 2002, 2006, 2011, 2016...). "ATF... Uhhh...heh...heh....Alcohol, tobacco, and GUNS!! Cool!!!!"