After shooting phone calls

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Whitenerj
Posts in topic: 1

After shooting phone calls

Post by Whitenerj »

So as a new LTC holder I am still learning what to do and not to do after a self defense shooting. I understand the 911 call and not to say too much without my attorney present. I have a membership with [Pre-paid legal service] just in case I ever need an attorney as well. My question is, when would I call my attorney after the shooting and when would I get a chance to call my wife if I were taken into custody? Does the one phone call rule like you see on tv relate to this matter? I don't know much about being arrested since I've never had that issue so I want to know when I would get a chance to contact my family and attorney.

Jason

WildBill

Re: After shooting phone calls

Post by WildBill »

Whitenerj wrote:So as a new LTC holder I am still learning what to do and not to do after a self defense shooting. I understand the 911 call and not to say too much without my attorney present. I have a membership with [Pre-paid legal service] just in case I ever need an attorney as well. My question is, when would I call my attorney after the shooting and when would I get a chance to call my wife if I were taken into custody? Does the one phone call rule like you see on tv relate to this matter? I don't know much about being arrested since I've never had that issue so I want to know when I would get a chance to contact my family and attorney.

Jason
I have never faced this situation, but I would think that the attorney could/would be able to notify your wife if your ability to make a phone call was delayed.
Just make sure that they have your emergency contact information on file.

I have heard, second hand, that they have pay phones in jail where you can make a collect call.