New TX Resident with other state RESIDENT license

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
extremist
Posts in topic: 2

New TX Resident with other state RESIDENT license

Post by extremist »

I did email RDS_Customer_Relations with this question but didn't really get a straight answer. And I've not been able to find an answer that definitively addresses the question. Here was my question:

"I'm an instructor. Have a student that recently moved to Texas from Kentucky. He possesses a valid Kentucky CHL (I questioned whether it is still valid since he is no longer a resident of KY). We have reciprocity with KY. He now has a TX DL and residency. But has not been a resident for 6 mo. Can he continue to carry legally with his KY license until he's eligible for a TX LTC? Thanks!"

Here was their answer: "If your student has a valid Texas Driver’s License and valid Texas residence address, he does not need to wait six (6) months. He is a citizen of Texas. He can submit an application now."

They didn't answer my question fully. I understand the 6 mo wait has been eliminated. I've had it come up at least 2 other times recently. Same situation - new RESIDENTS of TX (with TX DL) but carrying on another states RESIDENT CHL/LTC (i.e. FL, KY, etc) but they are no longer a resident of that state (are they still valid?). They bring up reciprocity - which I tell them - well yes, that's true - if you are a resident of those states, TX recognizes them, but you aren't, you are a resident of TX. You need a TX LTC. I've not seen it addressed in any materials and not in the Statutes (at least I can't find it) and not addressed in the DPS FAQ.

So does anyone know definitively? I've told these people, they need to call or email RDS and ask the question and see what they say.

Thanks,
James
TX LTC Instructor, NRA Endowment Life Member, USPSA CRO
NRA Handgun/Rifle/Shotgun/Home Firearm Safety, Chief Range Safety Officer