steering column carry

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Abigfoot
Posts in topic: 1

steering column carry

Post by Abigfoot »

Hello - I'm new to the LTC world. My wife and both have our TX LTC now and a question I forgot to ask the instructor at our class was, can I have my handgun on a steering column holster while driving, instead of on my belt?

This also applies to my wife who carries in a CC purse, but while driving in our remote area alone, would like to have the firearm easily accessible on the steering column versus the CC purse. I remember the instructor stating "on or about", but then the thought occurred to me about it having to be on a shoulder/belt holster....

Thank you for your help!

skeathley

Re: steering column carry

Post by skeathley »

If you have a police stop (traffic stop or other contact), and the LEO can see your gun from outside of the car, you will be arrested. The gun has to be "not in plain sight".

:rules:
Texas LTC Instructor / RSO / SSC
Viet Nam Veteran: 25th Infantry, Cu Chi
https://mckinneyfirearmstraining.com

cmgee67

Post by cmgee67 »

I hate this law. We can have a rifle or shotgun on the dashboard or in the back window in plain sight but we can’t have a pistol in plain sight? What is the reason pistols are so feared?

CleverNickname

Post by CleverNickname »

Whether it's legal or not, is it a good idea? I'm assuming you're not leaving the gun in the car, and you're transferring it to another holster on your body before you exit the car. Every time you unholster and reholster the gun (especially in the tight confines of a car) you're increasing the odds of a negligent discharge.

spectre
Banned

Post by spectre »

cmgee67 wrote:I hate this law. We can have a rifle or shotgun on the dashboard or in the back window in plain sight but we can’t have a pistol in plain sight? What is the reason pistols are so feared?