Hunter's Education Course and being a veteran

Post your hunting/trophy photos here, and tell us a little about your trip. WARNING: Some photos will be graphic.

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
gregthehand
Posts in topic: 2

Hunter's Education Course and being a veteran

Post by gregthehand »

OK I am supposed to go hunting tomorrow and I was told that I didn't have to take the hunter's education course if I am a veteran. Today somebody told me that is not so. So what is the correct answer? Do I need to bring along my DD-214 (discharge papers) if it is true and I don't have to take the class?
My posts on this website are worth every cent you paid me for them.

WildBill
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Hunter's Education Course and being a veteran

Post by WildBill »

gregthehand wrote:OK I am supposed to go hunting tomorrow and I was told that I didn't have to take the hunter's education course if I am a veteran. Today somebody told me that is not so. So what is the correct answer? Do I need to bring along my DD-214 (discharge papers) if it is true and I don't have to take the class?
I see an exemption if you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, but not for veteran. When were you born?

http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publication ... education/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
NRA Endowment Member

jester

Post by jester »

According to the link the class is required for those born on or after that date. Older people are the ones exempt.
"There is but one correct answer...and it is best delivered with a Winchester rifle."

dcphoto

Post by dcphoto »

Seems like an arbitrary date.

Were people born before Sept. 2, 1971 born with the knowledge of how to hunt safely?

Topic author
gregthehand

Post by gregthehand »

I was born in 1982. I guess I will be an observor tomorrow.
My posts on this website are worth every cent you paid me for them.

olafpfj

Post by olafpfj »