AR 15 Wont reset

"A pistol is what you use to fight your way back to the rifle you never should have left behind!" Clint Smith, Thunder Ranch

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
rm9792
Posts in topic: 6

AR 15 Wont reset

Post by rm9792 »

I just put together a RRA lower to a MDS upper and when it fires it reloads but doesnt reset the trigger. If you cycle by hand the trigger resets. If you flip the safety on and off it resets and fires. I swapped uppers with a known good AR and that rifle fired fine so it is proven to the lower. Any suggestions before I tear it apart and start over? Since it resets with the safety switch could that indicate something? I have assembled dozens of these and never had one malfunction so i am not good at diagnosing problems in the lower. What happens is that you fire, ejects and reloads, you switch the safety to on and you can see and hear the trigger go back to ready. Switch to Fire and repeat. Also, if you push the hammer down by hand it resets fine. Gun just wont do it when fired.

Pinkycatcher
Posts in topic: 1

Re: AR 15 Wont reset

Post by Pinkycatcher »

That doesn't even make sense, personally cycling the bolt resets it, but firing it doesn't? It's the same action, but one is faster than the other. I wish I could help but your problem confuses my understanding of the AR :headscratch

HighVelocity

Post by HighVelocity »

Sounds like you have one of the trigger group springs installed improperly.
I am scared of empty guns and keep mine loaded at all times. The family knows the guns are loaded and treats them with respect. Loaded guns cause few accidents; empty guns kill people every year. -Elmer Keith. 1961

MTICop
Posts in topic: 3

Post by MTICop »