Places to practice & train

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
TVegas
Posts in topic: 2

Self Defense Practice at an Indoor Range

Post by TVegas »

Howdy guys,

This is my first post on the forum after several months of spectating. This forum has been a wealth of knowledge for me during my first six months of carrying!

As a college student, I don't have much funds to put towards shooting, so I really like to get the most out of each dollar I spend. As a result, I like to shoot at a local indoor range because they have a happy hour special with the cheapest range fees around. I would really like to know how you all would suggest practicing for self defense shooting at an indoor range. Keep in mind that I'm asking about practical self defense practice, not precision shooting practice.

Some details: I can draw a magazine from a holster but not my weapon. Also, the targets cannot be automatically moved or turned during shooting (only to adjust distance between shots). This range also does not allow rapid fire, but no one has said anything about shooting roughly two shots per second.

Thanks in advance!
:txflag: Thanks and Gig 'em! :thumbs2:

RKlenka
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Self Defense Practice at an Indoor Range

Post by RKlenka »

It wont be easy.

It sounds like you can't draw, move, or shoot fast and all three of those are pretty important to self defense practice.

I would recommend finding a different range and get very accustomed to dry firing. One of those SRTs or a decent airsoft for your backyard would be a good idea as well.
Texas CHL Instructor - NRA Instructor - Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun, Black powder rifle, Black powder pistol
Russian Martial Art Systema Instructor, American Ninjutsu Instructor, CTCTG Instructor/Facilitator
http://www.fortworthcombatives.com

Topic author
TVegas
Posts in topic: 2

Post by TVegas »

RKlenka wrote:It wont be easy.