Alleged TSRA Bad Behavior On Open Carry Bill

Discussions about relevant bills filed and their status.

Moderator: Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
PracticalTactical
Posts in topic: 3

Alleged TSRA Bad Behavior On Open Carry Bill

Post by PracticalTactical »

Before I get started, I want to introduce myself and my intentions here to start a civilized and productive discussion. That and I'm not hiding behind any walls of anonymity.

I am Dusty Sensiba, a New Mexico CHL instructor. I am also an NRA instructor and do some AZ permit work with AZ DPS (reciprocity for NM isn't nearly as good, so we usually get an AZ permit to improve our carry coverage). I live just north of El Paso, and myself and most of my students regularly travel into Texas carrying concealed, so while we're not residents, Texas policy does affect us greatly.

I'm also working on getting set up for Texas CHL instruction and will get a Texas CHL while I'm at it. Heck, yet another piece of plastic in the ol' wallet, but unlike New Mexico, Texas puts 'instructor' on your license, who wouldn't want that?

I heard about Texas CHL Forum over on opencarry.org, but before you all start drawing down on me :fire , I'm not here to start yet another battle in the cross-board flame wars. Open carry isn't anything special in New Mexico, and we don't have all the controversy and anti-CHL sentiment in the New Mexico section. But I do keep an eye on the Texas section and try to do anything I can to improve things for both TX and NM residents.

I'll keep an eye on the 'Other States' section here, and if anybody has any NM or AZ questions I'll be there to help out.

I would have put all of this in a 'New Member' post, but I couldn't find a section for that.

Anyways, on to the actual topic of this post....