A few newb questions

General training discussions and class reviews.

Moderators: carlson1, Crossfire

Topic author
MikeHoncho
Posts in topic: 2

A few newb questions

Post by MikeHoncho »

Greetings Ladies and Gents,
I have a few questions that I hope you'll be good enough to help with. I am a High School teacher and have held a CHL for almost 4 years. Recent events have prompted some real "soul searching" for me lately, as I am sure they have for some of you. I find myself asking, "what can I do?"

There are several teachers on my campus that have expressed interest in obtaining their CHL and I am sure that if the word gets spread there will be more in the district. I am toying with the idea of getting my Instructor's certificate and offering training at a severely discounted price for teachers (just enough to cover my cost.)

Like many here, I believe that our schools are victim zones. If a situation, like that in Connecticut, happened on my campus there would be absolutely nothng I could do to defend my students. I know this won't allow teachers to carry at school but it will hopefully raise awareness and bring people back from the dark side.

So my questions to you are as follows:

1. In an effort to keep costs down I would like to avoid shooting ranges, plus I have heard horror stories about ranges being hostile to new instructors. There is a teacher interested in the course that may be open to the shooting portion taking place on his land. Does the range portion have to be at an "official" range or can it be on someones land out in the country?

2. I've looked on the DPS site but info is a bit vauge for instructors. What is the approximate total cost involved from start to finish for an instructor?

3. I'm aware that the Instructor course is a 36 hour commitment. That won't be a problem if I wait until Summer vacation but can I choose the class dates or do I get what I'm assigned?