Legal NJ Gun Stops Robbery

This is the forum for self-defense stories and reports, whether yours or those of others.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
RoyGBiv
Posts in topic: 2

Legal NJ Gun Stops Robbery

Post by RoyGBiv »

No charges filed against Newark deli owner who shot and killed would-be robber, authorities say
No charges have been filed against a city business owner who shot and killed an armed man trying to rob his deli Tuesday night, authorities said.

According to Acting Essex County Prosecutor Carolyn Murray and Newark Police Director Eugene Venable, the unidentified owner had a permit for the gun he used to kill Mark Robinson inside the New Neighborhood Deli Supermarket on Irvine Turner Boulevard.

Authorities say Robinson, 46, walked into the business at around 8:30 p.m. and pointed a gun at the owner, who quickly returned fire.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

mr1337

Re: Legal NJ Gun Stops Robbery

Post by mr1337 »

Allegedly, the robber's last words were: “I thought you couldn’t own a gun in New Jersey.”

http://alternativemediasyndicate.com/20 ... ew-jersey/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Meaning that gun control doesn't work against criminals. It actually seeks to help criminals prey on the law-abiding.
Keep calm and carry.

Licensing (n.) - When government takes away your right to do something and sells it back to you.

Topic author
RoyGBiv

Post by RoyGBiv »

^^^ I didn't post that intentionally... Interesting, but unsubstantiated....
Would be very convincing "testimony" if true.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

mr1337

Post by mr1337 »

Yeah, that's why I put "allegedly." It doesn't sound likely, but it's not all that far-fetched.

Even still, the robber did not expect his target to be armed.
Keep calm and carry.