HOA's and 30.06/30.07 posting

This is the forum for topics directly related to desired changes in the upcoming legislative session.

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
TexAg08
Posts in topic: 6

HOA's and 30.06/30.07 posting

Post by TexAg08 »

Is there anything in the works or being discussed about restricting an HOAs ability to post signage in common areas?

mr1337
Posts in topic: 3

Re: HOA's and 30.06/30.07 posting

Post by mr1337 »

TexAg08 wrote:Is there anything in the works or being discussed about restricting an HOAs ability to post signage in common areas?
For HOA's owned by the home owners (mine is still owned by the planner but will be released to the residents when the community is complete) - you are also part owner of the common areas, so you should be able to carry "with effective consent of the owner."

Please note that I am not a lawyer.
Keep calm and carry.

Licensing (n.) - When government takes away your right to do something and sells it back to you.

Topic author
TexAg08

Post by TexAg08 »

That is my understanding as well, but currently it lies on the shoulders of the homeowners to fight it. Some HOAs believe they have the right to post signage in common areas since it's private property. It would be nice to have legislation state that HOAs do not have authority to place signs in common areas.

Or remove prohibited places in general.

mr1337

Post by mr1337 »

TexAg08 wrote:That is my understanding as well, but currently it lies on the shoulders of the homeowners to fight it. Some HOAs believe they have the right to post signage in common areas since it's private property. It would be nice to have legislation state that HOAs do not have authority to place signs in common areas.

Concealed is concealed.
Keep calm and carry.

Licensing (n.) - When government takes away your right to do something and sells it back to you.

Topic author
TexAg08

Post by TexAg08 »