Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
texasag93
Posts in topic: 1

Left eye dominant and right handed son

Post by texasag93 »

My son is 6 and has this problem.

I am a reasonable teacher, but I am afraid I will mess his shooting up.

I am looking tips and hints on how to deal with this.

I have a lot of right handed guns and would hate to see him not shoot them in the future. I also do not want to buy left handed guns if possible.

Any advice?

texasag
texasag93

74novaman

Re: Left eye dominant and right handed son

Post by 74novaman »

texasag93 wrote:My son is 6 and has this problem.

I am a reasonable teacher, but I am afraid I will mess his shooting up.

I am looking tips and hints on how to deal with this.

I have a lot of right handed guns and would hate to see him not shoot them in the future. I also do not want to buy left handed guns if possible.

Any advice?

texasag
I am left eye dominant and right handed. I shoot handguns with my right hand and it doesn't bother my accuracy at all.

Rifles must be shot from left shoulder, but with any semi auto from a 10/22 up, that shouldn't be a huge deal. Although I will say that I feel an AK is more user friendly for a southpaw then an AR. (But either one is entirely usable)

Just teach him how to shoot and he'll be fine. You can absolutely shoot pistols right handed/left eye dominant. :tiphat:
TANSTAAFL

Keith

Post by Keith »

Im the same way. I shoot with left eye on handguns so I can keep both eyes open without any problem. For rifles I use right eye again without issues. I have zero problem staying on target and im a hard on myself when it comes to hitting my targets were I want to hit them.