Patrol Officers Neutralize Hostage Taker

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
Excaliber
Posts in topic: 1

Patrol Officers Neutralize Hostage Taker

Post by Excaliber »

Two Salt Lake City officers neutralized a hostage taker who was holding a knife to his victim's neck. Their expert level shooting resolved the incident with no injury to the hostage. Their actions would have been a credit to any highly trained SWAT team. Details here.
Excaliber

"An unarmed man can only flee from evil, and evil is not overcome by fleeing from it." - Jeff Cooper
I am not a lawyer. Nothing in any of my posts should be construed as legal or professional advice.

Keith B

Re: Patrol Officers Neutralize Hostage Taker

Post by Keith B »

That female officer must have been very confident in her shooting skills. I am not sure I could have comfortably taken those first shots. :shock:
Keith
Texas LTC Instructor, Missouri CCW Instructor, NRA Certified Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun Instructor and RSO, NRA Life Member

Psalm 82:3-4

ELB

Post by ELB »

Preece’s family released a statement criticizing the officers’ decision to intervene with lethal force:

We feel that the actions taken in this altercation was unnecessary. Andrew was not in his right state of mind but he never wanted to hurt anyone. He had a history with law enforcement but that doesnt make him in any way less of a person. This could have been prevented by taking a few extra minutes or hour to talk him down if that’s what it would take. In our opinion it did not look like a hostage situation, rather Andrew leaning on his friend for support because it appeared that he was is some way hurt.

“They should have taken more time to talk instead of shoot and that’s gotta change,” the family said.
This statement is...psychotic.
USAF 1982-2005

Rafe

Post by Rafe »

ELB wrote: Sat Aug 08, 2020 8:35 am