getting started

For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
rodnocker1
Posts in topic: 2

getting started

Post by rodnocker1 »

I am interested in getting started with reloading due to the ever rising prices of ammo. I have NO equipment and NO experience. I had considered it a while back, but adding up the cost of just the components to reload, it came up at about the same cost as just buying factory ammo and that cost didn't include the cost of equipment. Then I read about getting range brass. What I am trying to find out is how available is range brass really? I would think that with the number of people who reload, it might be hard (or impossible) to come by.

Also, if you shoot at a range, are you allowed to pick up your own brass? This goes back to the previous question...If everyone is picking up their own brass, what is left to buy from the range? If they won't let you pick up your brass, they are making you buy your own brass back.

To compound the problem, all of the pistol ammo I have now (15,000 rnds .45 ACP and 3,000 rnds. 9MM) is Blazer aluminum, so I am going to have to either buy the brass as a component or buy brass cased ammo and then get that brass to use.

I feel sort of like that guy in the commercial where he is showing off all of the things he has and says he is in debt up to his ears. I'm not in debt, but I feel like I am in information up to my ears and just as the guy in the commercial says-"WON'T SOMEBODY HELP ME PLEASE?".

Seriously, any help and information will be greatly appreciated.
Rodney

Kalrog
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Kalrog »

My first step was to get the ABCs of Reloading. Great information.

Then probably a Lee kit for lower volume / handgun ammo.

And shoot up all your Aluminum stuff before you start reloading for that caliber. You probably won't save anything by reloading for 9mm, but you sure can with the larger calibers (.45ACP for sure).

Topic author
rodnocker1