Decisions decisions...

For those who like to roll their own.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
SQLGeek
Posts in topic: 9

Decisions decisions...

Post by SQLGeek »

I know we've had several press discussions on here but I figure I'd start my own.

I have been shooting in some form or fashion for a little over 20 years and finally want to break into the world of reloading. I have been researching the process and various types of presses for several years so I feel I have a decent theoretical understanding of the reloading process.

I mainly shoot handguns, 9mm and .45 ACP. I will be eventually wanting to do a cowboy round, either .38/.357 or .45 Colt. I also shoot 5.56 and .30-06 (M1 Rifle) in semi-auto. The first two rounds I see wanting to start with will be .45 ACP and also working up an M2 ball .30-06 round for my Garand. I think .45 ACP will be the first round I start working up due to the lower pressures and seemingly simpler reloading process. .30-06 will follow that.

I want to start reloading for the following reasons:

1) Expand into a new aspect of this shooting hobby that doesn't seem to want to go away. :mrgreen:

2) Reduce the cost of more the more expensive rounds that I shoot, chiefly .30-06 suitable for a Garand, .45 ACP and one of the aforementioned cowboy rounds.

All of that being said, I am trying to figure out just which press I want to go with. I feel I have a decent grasp of the pros and cons of a single stage v. turret v. progressive press. I've looked at going with a single stage, as that is usually what seems to be recommended for those starting out. My fear is I will outgrow it quicker than I would like. I don't do any precision type of shooting and don't see that as something I'd be getting into in the future so I don't think the use case for keeping a single stage around after upgrading to a turret or progressive would really apply to me (though I have been wrong before).