BarCodes?

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Post Reply
User avatar

Topic author
tomneal
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:26 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

BarCodes?

#1

Post by tomneal » Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:33 am

I am working with a barcode reader. My plan is to use it for PSC Renewals.

BUT
I am having a spot of trouble just getting started.

When I print a barcode, my scanner doesn't recognize it.

Anyone have thoughts on how to get started in barcodes or what software I should look at?
See you at the range
NRA Life, TSRA Life, USPSA Life, Mensa (not worth $50 per year so it's expired)
Tom (Retired May 2019) Neal


TxD
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 686
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:29 pm
Location: Friendswood Tx

Re: BarCodes?

#2

Post by TxD » Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:56 am

[quote="tomneal"]I am working with a barcode reader. My plan is to use it for PSC Renewals.

BUT
I am having a spot of trouble just getting started.

When I print a barcode, my scanner doesn't recognize it.

Anyone have thoughts on how to get started in barcodes or what software I should look at?[/quote]
Tom.
Talk to Charles.
He uses one for IDPA registration.

User avatar

Topic author
tomneal
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 989
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:26 pm
Location: Houston
Contact:

#3

Post by tomneal » Wed Feb 28, 2007 12:28 pm

Charles uses a program written by someone else.
I am working on the program
See you at the range
NRA Life, TSRA Life, USPSA Life, Mensa (not worth $50 per year so it's expired)
Tom (Retired May 2019) Neal


k5dmb
Member
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:03 pm
Location: NW Houston (Willowbrook area)

#4

Post by k5dmb » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:42 pm

Do you have the correct font (3of9 I think rings a bell)?

As I recall from sometime back you have to buy that font, But I may have it somewhere...

I'll research and get back to ya...

David
David
NRA Life Member
Semper Fi

User avatar

hi-power
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 748
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:43 am
Location: Grapevine, TX

#5

Post by hi-power » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:52 pm

k5dmb wrote:Do you have the correct font (3of9 I think rings a bell)?

As I recall from sometime back you have to buy that font, But I may have it somewhere...

I'll research and get back to ya...

David
I have more barcode fonts than anyone could ever want. Let me know and I'll email whichever ones you want. As far as I know, none are proprietary and can be freely used.


k5dmb
Member
Posts in topic: 2
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 3:03 pm
Location: NW Houston (Willowbrook area)

#6

Post by k5dmb » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:53 pm

I found this as a free download on the 'net.

http://www.adams1.com/pub/russadam/shar ... rcod39.zip That should start a download of the zip file. Unzip and drop in your font folder (I don't know if it'll work beyond Win2K) click START, SETTINGS, CONTROL PANEL, then right click on FONTS and select PROPERTIES. Drop the files into the folder. It should tell you font was loaded or something.

The font should show up in documents, choose it and key the values... 3of9 represents numbers only as I recall, and it seems you need to put an asterisk '*' at the beginning and end for the scanner to recognize the value.

Good luck, hope your mileage doesn't vary. No warranty is implied :roll:

David
David
NRA Life Member
Semper Fi


Operators Edge
Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Contact:

#7

Post by Operators Edge » Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:54 pm

I have one that MIGHT work for you. It came with my barcode printer when I got my point of sale system. I use Quickbooks and it works.
"He who gets into a fair fight, has no tactical skills"


Robert Potter
Operators Edge
sales@operatorsedge.com
http://www.operatorsedge.com
866-457-SWAT
26728 I-45 North
Spring, TX. 77386


The Marshal
Senior Member
Posts in topic: 1
Posts: 832
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 10:16 am
Location: Rockwall TX

#8

Post by The Marshal » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:09 pm

Barcodes come in several flavors.

Seems to me that there are over 11 'types', and your barcode scanner has to be set to read that type, otherwise it won't 'understand' what it is scanning and do nothing.

Make sure what Type you are printing, the Scanner is set to read.

~Bill

Post Reply

Return to “Technical Tips, Questions & Discussions (Computers & Internet)”