IP address presents wrong location

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
Mike1951
Posts in topic: 2

IP address presents wrong location

Post by Mike1951 »

The only IP address my connection displays is that for Earthlink, apparently due to my router masking my actual IP address.

This is a good thing, but all locations, nearest businesses, etc are based on League City, when I'm not close to League City.

It's a relatively minor inconvenience, but I was wondering if there might be a simple fix.
Mike
AF5MS
TSRA Life Member
NRA Benefactor Member

Dave2
Posts in topic: 1

Re: IP address presents wrong location

Post by Dave2 »

Not that I know of. Every so often Google thinks my computer in somewhere on the west coast (which is odd, since the OS gets it right).
I am not a lawyer, nor have I played one on TV, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, nor should anything I say be taken as legal advice. If it is important that any information be accurate, do not use me as the only source.

katmandu

Post by katmandu »

You can set your correct location in Google Maps, and I believe they will then set a cookie with that info.

Topic author
Mike1951
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Mike1951 »

katmandu wrote:You can set your correct location in Google Maps, and I believe they will then set a cookie with that info.
Thanks. Tried that. Will see what effect it has.
Mike
AF5MS
TSRA Life Member
NRA Benefactor Member

cyphur

Post by cyphur »

Mike1951 wrote:The only IP address my connection displays is that for Earthlink, apparently due to my router masking my actual IP address.

This is a good thing, but all locations, nearest businesses, etc are based on League City, when I'm not close to League City.

It's a relatively minor inconvenience, but I was wondering if there might be a simple fix.