Replacement for Windows Home Server

Most of us are not "computer people" so post your technical questions and comments here. If you have computer or Internet expertise, share it here.

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
Charles L. Cotton
Site Admin
Posts in topic: 3

Replacement for Windows Home Server

Post by Charles L. Cotton »

I have been running Windows Home Server SP2 for several years. It's running on an old HP Pentium 2.4 GHz desktop computer. It's my understanding that Microsoft no longer offers Home Server and I want to plan for the day when my current system is no longer workable. It's currently used to backup all of our computers and to host some larger common files such as images. However, I also have a DropBox account that has even more files than the Home Server.

What is the standard for this application in a home environment, now that Home Server isn't available? I'm going to load Ubuntu onto an old HP laptop that is currently unusable and it will be used solely to run Skype for podcast interviews. I know Ubuntu also has server software, but since I don't know squat about Linux, I'm very reluctant to go that route.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Chas.

mojo84
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Replacement for Windows Home Server

Post by mojo84 »

A lot off people are going to a NAS system. I think that is what I am about to do for my home and business data storage needs.
Note: Me sharing a link and information published by others does not constitute my endorsement, agreement, disagreement, my opinion or publishing by me. If you do not like what is contained at a link I share, take it up with the author or publisher of the content.

bblhd672

Post by bblhd672 »

Windows 10 Enterprise with NAS storage system attached.