Court challenge to remove 30.06 etc signs and post 'gunbuster' signs instead.

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
couzin
Posts in topic: 2

Court challenge to remove 30.06 etc signs and post 'gunbuster' signs instead.

Post by couzin »

Has anyone taken notice of this court case? Rather stupid reasoning in my opinion.

https://www.houstonpublicmedia.org/arti ... gun-signs/
“Only at the end do you realize the power of the Dark Side.”

Rafe

Re: Court challenge to remove 30.06 etc signs and post 'gunbuster' signs instead.

Post by Rafe »

Michael Cavanaugh, a criminal justice professor at the University of Houston-Downtown, said arguing the case as constitutional rights violations is a tough sell.
I'm no lawyer, but that was precisely my first thought, as well. My second thought was summed up nicely by Jerry Patterson: "Former Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson, who authored the state's concealed handgun law when he was a state senator in the 1990s, called the lawsuit's premise 'bogus'."
“Be ready; now is the beginning of happenings.”
― Robert E. Howard, Swords of Shahrazar

der Teufel
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Court challenge to remove 30.06 etc signs and post 'gunbuster' signs instead.

Post by der Teufel »

Hmm, this article was last updated two years ago.
It would seem that nothing much came of it.
A man can never have too much red wine, too many books, or too much ammunition. — Rudyard Kipling
NRA Endowment Member
TSRA Life Member

Rafe

Post by Rafe »

der Teufel wrote: Tue Sep 20, 2022 10:10 am Hmm, this article was last updated two years ago.
Dagnabit. You're right. My bad: I should have looked at the date before reading it.
“Be ready; now is the beginning of happenings.”
― Robert E. Howard, Swords of Shahrazar

Soccerdad1995

Post by Soccerdad1995 »

There is no signage requirement for a property owner to ban guns from their property. And there never has been.