Can you carry spare magazine(s) owb at posted business in texas
Thanks, gamboolman
gamboolman
TSRA , GOA & NRA Life Member

puma guy
Posts in topic: 4

Re: Spare magazine owb at posted business

Post by puma guy »

You don't specify what type of posting. That being said I am not a lawyer nor a legal scholar, but I would say it's legal to do so, since there's no language I know of addressing magazines. If the posting prohibits carry under all PC's I would think to do so would just draw unwanted attention.
KAHR PM40/Hoffner IWB and S&W Mod 60/ Galco IWB
NRA Endowment Member, TSRA Life Member,100 Club Life Member,TFC Member
My Faith, My Gun and My Constitution: I cling to all three!

Topic author
gamboolman

Post by gamboolman »

Thank you for the prompt reply.
It is 30:07
I normally take my spare mag out of the OWB carrier when going into a posted business
I just forgot this time
And they asked me to take it to the truck
Last edited by gamboolman on Sat Nov 25, 2023 7:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
gamboolman

Jose_in_Dallas
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Jose_in_Dallas »

Not clear on the question. Just the magazine itself OWB? Or in conjunction with a firearm?

Topic author
gamboolman

Post by gamboolman »

Just the magazine
I had left my pistol in the truck
gamboolman

Tex1961
Posts in topic: 3

Post by Tex1961 »

The state of Texas defines a firearm as any device made or adapted to expel a projectile through the use of a burning or explosive substance. A 30.07 restricts carrying a firearm by a license holder openly. A magazine holder is no a firearm so no, in my opinion carrying a magazine holder past a 30.07 does not violate penal code 30.07.

Jose_in_Dallas

Post by Jose_in_Dallas »

gamboolman wrote: Sat Nov 25, 2023 7:02 pm Just the magazine