Mom doesn't like guns

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
mloamiller
Posts in topic: 4

Mom doesn't like guns

Post by mloamiller »

I've been carrying for about five years. About a year after I started carrying, I went to visit my mom for the weekend. I was carrying (concealed) when I got to her home, unloaded my car and we sat and visited for a while, my gun on my hip the whole time. We then went out to eat, where she sat next to me at the table, on my gun side. During dinner, she went to hug me and her hand hit my gun. She pulled back, somewhat startled and said "what on earth is that?" I told her what it was (she is my mom, after all) and she seemed shocked. "Well, I hope you don't carry that in my house!". I told her that was surprising since Dad always had guns (he died about eight years ago). I asked her if she was afraid of them, saying they aren't going to hurt someone by accident, but she replied it didn't matter, she didn't like them and didn't want me wearing it in her house. Since then, I'v always left it in my bag while in her house. I put it on when I'm out on her property (about 18 acres), but not in the house.

Flash forward to this weekend and she came to visit us and go to church with us Sunday morning. In the past when she's visited, I've always been careful to keep my gun out of sight and not let her see me carry it. I know it's my house/my rules, but I do this out of respect for her. I was getting dressed for church, trying to figure out how to carry. I usually wear a jacket, but don't put it on until we actually get to church, so I would normally wear it openly around the house after getting dressed, before we leave. However, yesterday, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I still carried, but it put it on at the last minute and tried to position myself so she wouldn't see it. I think she may have, and didn't say anything, but it just felt weird.