campus carry outside only of school that opted out

CHL discussions that do not fit into more specific topics

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
flechero
Posts in topic: 2

campus carry outside only of school that opted out

Post by flechero »

I will be on UMHB's campus later this week for a short time and out of my vehicle (unrelated to any school activity and only outside in a common area) As I understand it they are not a campus carry school. Does that cover everything, including outdoor grounds or just the buildings?

In other words, do I need to leave my gun in the truck?

My searches were fruitless in that I found nothing definitive.

Thanks!

RoyGBiv

Re: campus carry outside only of school that opted out

Post by RoyGBiv »

Mary Hardin Baylor??

https://go.umhb.edu/police/weapons

No guns on campus...

Discussion here about in the car... viewtopic.php?t=58389
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

PriestTheRunner
Posts in topic: 4

Post by PriestTheRunner »

How is that legal?....
46.035, Penal Code.
(b) A license holder may carry a concealed handgun on or
about the license holder's person while the license holder is on the
campus of an institution of higher education or private or
independent institution of higher education in this state.
(c) Except as provided by Subsection (d), (d-1), or (e), an
institution of higher education or private or independent
institution of higher education in this state may not adopt any
rule, regulation, or other provision prohibiting license holders
from carrying handguns on the campus of the institution.
D-1...
The president or officer may not establish provisions
that generally prohibit or have the effect of generally prohibiting
license holders from carrying concealed handguns on the campus of
the institution.

Nevermind, I see all the way down to "E".
That needs to be fixed.