Any ham trader sites...

Topics that do not fit anywhere else. Absolutely NO discussions of religion, race, or immigration!

Moderators: Charles L. Cotton, carlson1

Topic author
TxLobo
Posts in topic: 2

Any ham trader sites...

Post by TxLobo » Sat May 11, 2019 8:06 pm

Worth looking at?

I'm new to the amateur radio side, been threatening myself to get my license for years, I've worked emergency communications, been a DJ, dabbled in CB when I was in JR high.. (KAKO-4794) back when we still had to get a license for CB..
Got my Tech in February, got my General in March. Studying for GROL now (beats me why I have to know what wattage a ship can use in a blind curve of a river when there ain't no rivers, or ships in Central Texas.. ) but I regress.

I'm looking for HF traders in Texas.
I've looked at Eham, Ebay, QRZ, couple of sites on FB :banghead: All good sites, but I've about determined that if the radio isn't busted, the seller thinks it's the best of the best and is offering it for just 200 less than new in the box. Or it belonged to a smoker that went SK and there is so much sludge on the radio you would waste a can of ID Red just trying to clean it.

I know, it's kinda like selling guns, but radios depreciate and technology changes. I've an old 10 meter Swan that was fairly expensive when new, but I realize it's going to look better in a museum than being sold to a youngster starting out. I've got a couple of Kenwood TK series that have been set up on 2 meter. TYT on 70 cm and a couple of *ducking* Baofeng for walking around use. But I'd like to play with DX. Any suggestions?
Thanks!
"It's not the wolves of the wild that I fear, but the sheep, the sheep cause me concern.."

1911, 'cause life's too short to carry an ugly gun...
NRA Life Member

mojohn
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Any ham trader sites...

Post by mojohn » Sat May 11, 2019 9:04 pm

Make 'em an offer!
https://www.mtcradio.com/used-gear/

John Peek, KF5ZMD

2farnorth