Shotgun selection

"A pistol is what you use to fight your way back to the rifle you never should have left behind!" Clint Smith, Thunder Ranch

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
Scott65
Posts in topic: 5

Shotgun selection

Post by Scott65 »

So my daughter is in FFA and she comes home from school telling me about a shooting group that will be shooting sporting clays. I have no firsthand knowledge in this area. But it seems a good excuse to buy her a shotgun that she can learn with, and decide if she likes the sport. I have a friend who has a Remington 870, and an 1100 of some variety that he "may be willing to part with". I'm not looking to invest in an expensive gun at this time, so I'm leaning towards a pump, but open to the 1100 if the deal is right. I have numerous friends who are familiar with shotguns and say that Remingtons are not the same as years ago when they were very well regarded. My questions are two fold: How far back in time do you have to go (what years of manufacture) to get to a point where you feel the Remingtons are a top choice? And second, if you were to buy a brand new one today, what brands are good in the budget shotgun category? Budget to me being in the $400 or less price range. Any help would be appreciated as I want to help her, but I'm just not knowledgeable in this area.

RPBrown
Posts in topic: 1

Re: Shotgun selection

Post by RPBrown »

I started my son out on a Remington 870. Pretty goog gun for the money. Mossberg makes some pretty good shotguns within your price range.
NRA-Benefactor Life member
TSRA-Life member

swilkes

Post by swilkes »

Not sure if it would be a good clay gun but hard to beat my benelli nova. You can look at the super nova also for less recoil.

bmwrdr

Post by bmwrdr »

I am not a shotgun expert but my buddies talk positive about the Remington 870 and Mosberg products.

:tiphat:
I scarified political correctness to preserve honesty ︻╦̵̵͇̿̿̿̿══╤─

rotor
Posts in topic: 3

Post by rotor »