Florida!

Discussion of other state's CHL's & reciprocity

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
wakal

Florida!

Post by wakal »

While as a Texas CHL Instructor I'm expected to pimp for TX CHL, I still recommend that my students look into Florida permits as well as ours. In the case of those poor benighted folks not interested in the NICS-avoiding feature of our CHL, I recommend just a FL permit.

Cheaper, good for an extra year, and valid in almost twenty-odd more states than ours.

Anyone else feel the same way?

Alex

antfarmer
Posts in topic: 1

Post by antfarmer »

I dunno. I keep holding out hope that the reciprocity "backlog" we seem to have will eventually be taken care of. Meanwhile, at $20 and an easy application. NH looks like pretty good bang to buck ratio.

one eyed fatman
Banned

Post by one eyed fatman »

Only thing is we (Texas) don't honor the NH license. Bummer.

Greybeard

Post by Greybeard »

Yep, another instructor here who at least mentions FL and NH options.

Altho I do not think the FL permit alone should be a substitute for taking a Texas class and exposure to Texas laws. Too many errornet myths and old wives tales floating around out there to have poorly educated pistol packers jeopardizing what more serious folks worked so long and hard to obtain.

solaritx

Post by solaritx »

I have had both a Texas and Florida CHL for quite awhile (in fact will have to renew my FL soon). I did this because of my travel schedule, and I highly recommend getting both. According to Packing.org and my research, my FL-CHL gives me an additional 7 states that the TX-CHL does not cover. If one travels, I highly recommend getting both.

Warhorse545

Post by Warhorse545 »

I have the NH one. I got it because of a planed trip to Colorado. They honor NH and not Texas. Does not make a heck of a lot of sense to me.

I thought about Florida, but do not travel much so I have not seen a real need for one.