If stopped in OTHER state, do you tell/show TX CHL?

Discussion of other state's CHL's & reciprocity

Moderators: carlson1, Keith B

Topic author
MJR
Posts in topic: 1

If stopped in OTHER state, do you tell/show TX CHL?

Post by MJR »

If pulled over in another state do you show/tell officer (like you would in Texas) your CHL?

RoyGBiv

Re: If stopped in OTHER state, do you tell/show TX CHL?

Post by RoyGBiv »

MJR wrote:If pulled over in another state do you show/tell officer (like you would in Texas) your CHL?
Depends on State law. Some States require advising the officer immediately, some do not.

http://www.handgunlaw.us

IMO, I always disclose that I have a license and a weapon, regardless of the State law.
If I were a LEO, would I want that information volunteered? Yes.
I am not a lawyer. This is NOT legal advice.!
Nothing tempers idealism quite like the cold bath of reality.... SQLGeek

tlt

Post by tlt »

Last edited by tlt on Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dave2
Posts in topic: 2

Post by Dave2 »

RoyGBiv wrote:
MJR wrote:If pulled over in another state do you show/tell officer (like you would in Texas) your CHL?
Depends on State law. Some States require advising the officer immediately, some do not.

IMO, I always disclose that I have a license and a weapon, regardless of the State law.
What if you don't have a weapon? Because 99.999374682% of the time, if I'm not in TX, I'm in CA where I can't carry my gun.
I am not a lawyer, nor have I played one on TV, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, nor should anything I say be taken as legal advice. If it is important that any information be accurate, do not use me as the only source.

Glockster

Post by Glockster »

Dave2 wrote:
RoyGBiv wrote:

What if you don't have a weapon? Because 99.999374682% of the time, if I'm not in TX, I'm in CA where I can't carry my gun.