Texas to the rescue of our 2nd Amendment rights

As the name indicates, this is the place for gun-related political discussions. It is not open to other political topics.

Moderators: carlson1, Charles L. Cotton

Topic author
Paladin
Posts in topic: 10

Texas to the rescue of our 2nd Amendment rights

Post by Paladin »

JOIN NRA TODAY!, NRA Benefactor Life, TSRA Defender Life, Gun Owners of America Life, SAF, FPC, VCDL Member
LTC/SSC Instructor, NRA Certified Instructor, CRSO
The last hope of human liberty in this world rests on us. -Thomas Jefferson

srothstein
Posts in topic: 7

Re: Texas to the rescue of our 2nd Amendment rights

Post by srothstein »

I like this. Unfortunately, and I am not a lawyer nor an expert in this area, I see a single problem with it. Texas may not have standing for the lawsuit since it is not an injured party. I really want to see this case go through and it is asking for a remedy the courts could order. It is not asking for a specific winner to be determined, just that the legislature be ordered to choose the electors. This might not make a difference to the election overall, as the legislatures could appoint the Biden electors, "bowing to the expressed will of the people" anyway. But I like the concept and the case argument.
Steve Rothstein

philip964
Posts in topic: 15

Post by philip964 »

I like this, way to go Texas!!!

Puts it all in one big lawsuit.

https://www.citizenfreepress.com/breaki ... eme-court/

So simple I understand it.

Ted Cruz offered to argue it before SCOTUS.

Last edited by philip964 on Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:54 am, edited 2 times in total.

Papa_Tiger
Posts in topic: 1

Post by Papa_Tiger »

philip964 wrote: Tue Dec 08, 2020 10:40 am I like this, way to go Texas!!!

Puts it all in one big lawsuit.
The easier to be dismissed for lack of standing. If I understand correctly, Alito will be the one handling initial review on this.

parabelum
Posts in topic: 13

Post by parabelum »