Opinion on gunsmith situation

Gun, shooting and equipment discussions unrelated to CHL issues

Moderator: carlson1

Topic author
SRO1911
Posts in topic: 7

Opinion on gunsmith situation

Post by SRO1911 » Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:06 pm

This may come back to bite me, given the extensive reach of this forum, but I could use an outside opinion.
I'm a fairly decent machinist and occasional hack gunsmith. I do not currently have a milling machine, so I decided to send my pistol slide to an 'expert' to mill and tap for direct mounting an RDS.
Springfield XD 45 Tactical... vortex viper

Local gunsmith,
Initial consultation said I would have it back in 4 to 5 days.
It is now 26 days.
I've been told " another day or two" at least 7 times.
I found out a couple days ago they were ordering a new extractor.
Apparently, in their enthusiasm to co-witness - they milled deep. Milling deep means drilling deeper for mounting screws.

I haven't worked in a machine shop in a number of years, been doing the municipal thing and EMS thing - and haven't really followed trends and advancements.

When did it become a good idea, or even marginally accepted practice, to drill and tap into AND through disparate components?
Drilling and tapping 2\3 frame 1\3 extractor.... removable, spring steel extractor - let's put a screw through it.

After crunching a few bits and a tap (hardened spring steel on one side, mild steel on the other...big surprise), and additional delays I finally spoke to the gunsmith (been dealing with the owner\ffl) who explained all the issues to date and suggested installing a mounting plate which relocates the tapped holes to non critical areas. I said sure, whatever it takes to get it done.

Finally to today. Gun is back in my possession. - I really wish I could figure out how to post pictures.
Rough milling
If you are familiar with the XD, the extractor has cylindrical end opposite the claw to anchor it.